Responsive Ad Slot

Exchange Cryptocurrencies Instantly


2019: Here’s why the PDP presidential primary will be the toughest in Nigeria’s history

Friday, 31 August 2018

As the 2019 general election draws near, political parties and their candidates have begun to sharpen their tools and all that is necessary to ensure victory at the polls. This election, is already looking like the most interesting one yet, both new and seasoned politicians are all gearing up to make a mark in Nigeria’s political history.

With the mass defections from the All Progressives Congress(APC) by politicians gunning for the seat of the president, and knowing the party has reserved the slot for the incumbent, President Muhammadu Buhari – Hence the shift to the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), in order for them to clinch their dream position.

This shift, has made the choice for who will represent the PDP in next year’s presidential election a tough one. The consultations have begun, as candidates have met/and continue meeting with regions and persons that they know will play a vital role in actualising their presidential dream.

However, a here is  a list of all those that will be participating in the PDP primaries

Abubakar Atiku

Former Vice president of Nigeria from 1999 to 2003.

Bukola Saraki

President of the Nigeria’s Senate since 2015. He was formerly the Governor of Kwara State from 2003 to 2011.

Aminu Tambuwal

Presently the Governor of Sokoto State. He was elected as governor after the April 11th General Elections. He a Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria before he became governor.

Rabiu Kwankwaso

He was two times Governor of Kano State from 1999–2003 and 2011–2015.

Ibrahim Dankwambo

Governor of Gombe state from 2011 till date

Sule Lamido

He  served as Foreign minister of Nigeria from 1999 to 2003. He was elected governor of Jigawa State in April 2007.

Kabiru Turaki

Former Minister of Special Duties in the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan.

Jonah Jang

He was the Governor of Plateau State from 2007 to 2015. He had previously served as Military Governor of Benue State and Gongola State and ran successfully for reelection on 26 April 2011

Ahmed Makarfi

Former Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party. He was governor of Kaduna State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007, and was elected Senator for Kaduna North in April 2007.

Attahiru Dalhatu Bafarawa

He was governor of Sokoto State in Nigeria from 29 May 1999 to 29 May. He founded the Democratic People’s Party (DPP) and became its presidential candidate at the 2007 presidential elections in Nigeria.

Ibrahim Shekarau

He is a former Nigeria’s minister of education and two term Governor of Kano State in Nigeria. He was elected in April 2003 and reelected in April 2007.

Let's block ads! (Why?)


No comments

Post a Comment

Don't Miss